I suggest if you are interested in this system you make
a folder and drag over all the many future messages on this
subject otherwise delete it.
WARNING<<<<<<
Do not change the baud rate in the serial options menu.
------------------------------------------------------
Mark,
I talked to Don and he said it is essential to start
with a project. One can program with out a project
but a lot of error messages do not show up. The project name
must not be the same as the program name.
Here is what he said. I'll fool with it some and give
you more info later.
Posts: 1957
Location: Portland, OR
Posted: 18 May 2010, 19:45 PM Post subject: Re: errors occurred in the back-end build
process Reply with quote
Paul Lamar wrote:
What could that be?
The back-end build process is the final stage of converting the ZBasic code to AVR
executable code. Normally, this phase will complete without error but there are a number
of things that can go awry. To determine what's going on we need more information.
One way to get this information is to add the --verbose option to the project file. You do
this by selecting the "Open Project File" entry from the Options menu of the IDE. Your
project file will appear in one of the tabbed windows. Add the following line near the the
top of the project file:
Code:
--verbose
. Now, when you press F7 to compile the project you'll get a stream of command lines and
other information appearing in the Output window of the IDE. If an error does occur in the
back-end build process, it will be visible in that message stream. The entire block of
text can be selected using the mouse and copied to the clipboard using ctrl-C. Then, you
can paste it in the edit box (surrounded by "code" tags) in a forum post.
It could be that your reader is using an older version of the compiler that might have a
bug in it that your newer version doesn't have. You can determine the version of the
compiler being used by selecting "About ZBasic IDE" from the Help menu. The compiler
version is shown on the line below the IDE version number."
End quote.
-----------------------------------------------------
Mark,
Here is what I found out so far. Open a project and give it a name.
If you are successful it will have Sub Main()
and End Sub in it already. Sort of a skeleton program.
Now open the saved basic program you already have typed
in using Wordpad. Cut and paste your program between sub main and
end sub in your project file.
You are now set up. The "compile" and "go" commands
are now under the Project menu instead of the tools menu.
Future programs should be typed into a project as it opens a whole
host of error messages and other advantages as far as output
to a hard disk file is concerned.
From now on type all basic programs into a project.
The ZBasic docs could be better on this. This concept of a project is not
unique to Zbasic. My Ulead video editing program does pretty much the same
thing.
It always takes a while to get up to speed on Integrated Development
Environments. QB was the first and I still think it was the best
ever. This one is rising in my humble opinion as I learn more about
it.
Back in the old days, before IDE's, one had to write one's program
using an editor, save it on hard disk, open a compiler, compile
the binary program, save the binary program on hard disk, burn an eprom, insert
the eprom in the target computer, turn on the computer, press reset
and hope for the best. Find a bug and start all over. It took
months if not years.
Paul Lamar
--
The Rotary Engine NewsLetter. Powered by Linux.
ACRE NL web site.
http://www.rotaryeng.net
Youtube key word PaulLamar2
Copyright 1998-2010 All world wide rights reserved.